Tags

, , ,

The saddest thing the Catholic Church did to me, nullified my marriage after a divorce, took away its existence in sacrament. In my heart it was a sacrament even though the marriage ended. How can a church take away something holy? To have had my case reviewed by a Catholic tribunal and judged was simply medieval. And even with all this, when people ask, I am still Catholic.

from The Beauty And Challenge Of Being Catholic: Hearing The Faithful.

Amid the current debates about the reception of Holy Communion by divorced and remarried Catholics, many people on both sides think that the solution is simply to make the annulment process easier, less rigorous. We hear far too little, I think, from those who may have been wounded by the (currently already very relaxed) annulment process.

